9:30 AM

Several awards were handed out at the annual banquet of the Southern Stone County Fire Protection District that was held recently at Chateau on the Lake.

Tyler Pollard was named officer of the year.  Andrew Jenanian, Brad Snider and Dustin Besperat were awarded firefighters of the year.

Dawn Brose was named Rookie of the Year.  Bob Ramsell was awarded the Fully Involved award.  Station 15 was named Station of the Year.

Explorer of the Year was awarded to Anthony Griggs while Markus Blevins took home the award for most training hours after logging 305 hours.

Jim Harding responded to 412 calls and Paul Ash was awarded Tank of the Year.  Harding also responded to 213 medical calls.

Those spotlighted for 20 years of service to the department were Dorothy and John Innes.  Gary Swain was recognized for 15  years of service and Jeremy Chellios, Katrina Cooksey and Joe Greene received awards for 10 years of service to the department.

Rob Barringer, James Brockett, John Clark, Andrew Fennema, Mark Newsom, Shelby Phifer, Alan Pollard, Tyler Pollard, Bob Ramsell, Brad Snider, Jennifer Whitehead and Brian Zaitz were recognized for five years.

Those recognized for serving one year with the department were Clint Barnes, Jean Bjorgen, Nathan Blake, Dawn Brose, Joseph Brose, Natalie Brown, Larry Catron, Helen Christensen, Lucy Cole, Melissa Cole, Nathan Hutson, Mary Miller, Melissa Muhs, Garrett Olson, Tyson Parten and Robert Tillish.