11:44 AM

Some familiar names who have led city government in several municipalities in Stone County are missing from the ballot for upcoming elections on April 8th.

Jessica White, who has served as Ward 1 Alderman in Crane since 2010, will not seek re-election.  Those vying for her seat are Tena "Vaught" Reel and Thomas Cutbirth.  Ward 2 alderman Kyle Bentley is running unopposed.

Those vying for three available seats on the Crane school board are; Tracy Brannan, Robert "Tim" Thomas, William "Billy" Hayes, Bobby Lee Conrad and Kim Newkirk.  Voters will also decide a no bond increase of $2 million dollars to fund the construction and furnishing of a new gymnasium for the school district.

In Hurley, Steve Seaton is running unopposed for mayor and Savannah Young is running unopposed for Ward 2 alderman. Those vying for three school board seats are Herbert Ward, Don Simpson, Jamey Wilson, Steve Seaton, Katrina Flood and Tracie Ward-Blakely.  Voters will also decide a $1 million no bond increase "for the purpose of providing funds for the acquisition of school facilities currently leased by the District."

No one is seeking the mayors seat in Galena.  John Coones and David Stewart are seeking the Ward 1 seat--and John Arrington is seeking one of the Ward 2 seats.  No one has expressed interest in the other Ward 2 seat. Mechelle Lebow, Rick Farley, Levi Jones, B.J. Sartin, Lisa Williams and Theron Caldwell are running for three open school board seats.

Longtime Reeds Spring mayor Paul Lear announced late last year that he would not seek another term. Former Reeds Spring police officer Chris Lackey will square off against Kevin Hayward for that position. William "Bill" Bott and Montez Jenkins are vying for one of the Ward 1 seats.  Robert Scott Chamberlin Jr. is running unopposed for the other.  Tim Superior and T. Gordon Weathers are running unopposed for the Ward 2 seats.

Voters in Reeds Spring will also decide if the want to implement a sales tax of one half of one percent earmarked for "transportation purposes."  A no bond increase asking voters to approve $16 million dollars for the construction of a new middle school will also appear on the ballot.

In Branson West, Mike Brown and Joseph Ayres are seeking the Ward 1 seat while Michael Stepehnson and Don Eby vye for one of the Ward 2 seats.  Bill Merrit Sr. is running unopposed for the other. There is no word on whether there will be a special election for the mayor's seat following the recent death of longtime Branson West mayor John Rhodes.

Bob Fritz is running unopposed for mayor in Kimberling City.  Those seeking Ward 1 seats are Jason Shielke and Lowell Mielke.  Ryan Breit and Michele Stump are seeking Ward 2 seats.

In Blue Eye Jerry Kerns and J. D. Settles are seeking trustee seats.

Cynthia Brunken and Melissa Turner are vying for trustee seats in the Village of McCord Bend.

Those seeking three available trustee seats for the Village of Indian Point are Ryan McGinness, Linda Slaughter, Barbara Rose, Carole Kurtz and James "Jim" McGregor.